The development of the ELOM tools could not have been possible without the support of our partners.

The following reference group members and advisors played a key role in providing guidance on ELOM 4&5 development:

  • Prof. Nirmala Rao from the University of Hong Kong
  • Dr. Abbie Raikes from the University of Nebraska Medical Centre
  • Dr. Jane Kvalsvig from the University of KwaZulu-Natal
  • Dr. Celia Hsaio from Save the Children International
  • Dr. Nicholas Spaull from University of Stellenbosch and UNESCO
  • Dr. Penny Holding from University College London
  • Dr. Louis Benjamin from Basic Concepts Unlimited
  • Dr. Lauren Stretch from Early Inspiration.

We are also grateful to the following for their contribution: 

  • Sarah Girdwood for her expert input into the development of the sampling framework and for programming the tablet scoring system through Survey CTO
  • Innovation Edge support staff and particularly Caro Kellerman, Rina Mehlomakulu and Heidi Everts
  • Dr. Shelley O’ Carroll from Wordworks for advice on language and literacy items and suitable equivalents of Afrikaans and isiXhosa words
  • Dr. Sylvia Thompson from the University of Texas and Prof. Rosemary Cromarty from North West University on initial sound discrimination in different languages
  • Cally Kuhne from the Schools Development Unit at the University of Cape Town for advice on the mathematics items
  • Prof. Colin Tredoux from the Department of Psychology at the University of Cape Town for advice on psychometry
  • Folio Translation Consultants for providing professional translation support.

Peer review & consultations

For the Peer Review of the ELOM 4&5 Technical Manual, we are grateful to Prof. Santiago Cueto from Grupo de Análisis para el Desarrollo (GRADE) in Peru; Young Lives, Department of International Development, Oxford University; Dr. Celia Hsaio from Save the Children International; and Dr. Jane Kvalsvig from the University of KwaZulu-Natal.

Consultations on setting the ELOM 4&5 Assessment Tool standards were held with Dr. John Volmink from the UMALUSI Council for Quality Assurance in General and Further Education and Training; Marie-Louise Samuels from the Department of Basic Education; Prof. Nkidi Phatudi from the University of South Africa; Prof. Hasina Ebrahim from the University of South Africa; Zanele Twala from the Department of Planning, Monitoring, and Evaluation; Mari Payne from Save the Children South Africa; and Louise Erasmus from the Department of Basic Education.

Last, but not least…

For foundation phase numeracy and mathematics:

  • Prof. Hamsa Venkatakrishnan, SARCHi Research and Development Chair in Primary Maths Education at the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg
  • Cally Kuhne, Senior Education Specialist ECD/FP R-Maths Programme Leader at the Schools Development Unit at the University of Cape Town

For foundation phase language and literacy: 

  • Prof. Elizabeth Pretorius from the Department of Linguistics and Modern Languages at the University of South Africa
  • Dr. Shelley O’Carroll, Director and Early Literacy Specialist at Wordworks

For protocol translation and advice:

  • Ms. Dikeledi Mathebe and colleagues at the Department of Basic Education